April 1, 2009


  • Saturday he took me to the charity ball his boss sponsored.  Although I did not like the idea of being among people I do not know well, I went with him.  In this stormy economy, I think we should try to show support for his boss’ cause.  It was a very fancy ball.  People dressed up marvelously.  Men wore black ties and women evening gowns.  I just wore a simple spaghetti strap, swirl pattern mixing of several very pale easter colors, spring dress.  I did not want to impress anyone and did not want to buy anything I would wear only once.  I have several evening dresses but, being a woman, I do not like to wear the same thing again even no one in this ball ever saw me in those dresses.  I could wear a little black dress but I do not think it would matter to anyone.  We won two prizes.  A basket of cosmetic which he gave to his secretary and a gift certificate of a dozen roses which I gave to the check coat girl.  I had fun dancing a few songs.  I did not realize that we were the only couple who danced the chachacha.  The band played a chacha song I did not know at first and then they flowed smoothly into the Sway.  We got some compliments from his colleagues.    

    Sunday I watched the movie The Bucket List performed by Jack Nichoson and Morgan Freeman.  The two men got cancer and given only 6 months to a year.  Facing mortality they wanted to live the last part of their lives as fully as they could by doing something they have dreamed to do so but never being able to.  Money was not the issue because Jack Nichoson played a weathy man.  Morgan Freeman is a mechanics always wanted to be a history professor.  A combination of poignancy and comedy.  The movie made me question myself if I have only 6 months to live, what do I want to do.  What legacy do I leave behind?  Hmm. Maybe just this xanga which I wrote lots of junks but not enough love!  Why it is so difficult to say that we love our loved ones?  And to say sorry for the hurt I cause to certain people?  Why can’t I express the regret here for redemption?  What about writing certain stories I need to write say to ask for forgiveness? 

    I just finish The White Tiger of Aravind Adiga.  It is a great book which you can read from scribd.com.  You can down load in pdf or in text.  I was curious how this debut novel of a young author could beat The Secret Scripture of Sebastian Barry.  Having read both novels I agreed the The White Tiger deserved the Booker prize for fresh point of view and its originality.  It is more engaging readers than The Secrete Scripture although I love the poetic writing of the Scripture very much.

    I was planning to write a review of Catfish and Mandala but I lost interest because I already started to read another book, American Pastoral of Phillip Roth.  Reading about a star athelete is not my interest so I move to a book of Oates.  Will see if I like it or not.

    Have a good day everyone.

Comments (6)

  • You ask some very good questions in your second paragraph.  What stops us from doing what we "know webneed to do, and I guess more importantly are we going to allow it to continue.  Have a good day- so you are a dancer- how I would love to be but my partner hasn't the aspiration.

  • American Pastoral was passable, if I recall correctly. The athlete marries the beauty and has a daughter who later joins the Jaynes; the wife desperately  clings to her youth; and the man/athlete clings to his tie business(?). It's uppermiddle class struggles. I like Roth. My favorites were the Dying Animal and Human Stain (the movie was no where near as good as the book). I tried to give my brother Roth's Portnoy's Complaint, but brother claimed he didn't like fiction. He hated the story to the point of not finishing it.// Isn't it nice to dance like no one is watching? I bet you two looked beautiful!

  • @POETIC_ISIS - Thanks for the recommendation.  I will read Human Stain first.  I am your friend you should not lock me out:)

  • sometimes, life can be tough, not doing what we really like !?

    given a limited time in life, i do try to do things i like ...

  • I appreciate these tidbits about your personal life.  This is the first time you have mentioned your mate, other than being on the other side of the pillow.  And for all I knew that was a lover. 

    The other thing I found interesting was that you would rather wear something new than something comfortable, I mean that you were used to wearing.

    I am curious about your review of Oates' work.

  • i thought "catfish and mandala" was interesting when i read it. it fit in w/ that stage of my life i suppose. now, i don't remember enough to discuss the depth of its content.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *