October 5, 2008

  • Touch of Autumn

    001

    Thursday of the week before last week, it was overcast and really cold.   I took a walk at lunch time and silently told myself, it began to feel autumn.  The large patch of land next to the river was full of wild flowers such as golden rods, wild purple and white daisies as small as the tip of a nail, and these clover flowers.  And I saw this butterfly.  I wanted to take a few more photos of the butterfly but it would not sit still.  If you see butterflies and bees around certain flowers you know they are fragrant.  

    003

    Along my walk, the trees are still green but here and there, I spot a few leaves turned yellow such as this one.  I wonder what its name.  If you know, please tell me.

    005

    In front of my company and along Broad Street, in front of YMCA I saw these pods.  They are very juicy when I broke the pods in half.  Just looking at the leaves they look like black locusts but I do not know for sure.

    021

    Next to the building where they have large garage and where I was stopped for taking pictures by a garage attendant, golden rods sprouted through the cracks of concrete pavement.  On this branch there were at least five wasps buzzing around.  Theywere hidden in the clumps of flowers only one was seen. 

    022

    Next to the walkway around the NJPAC, the trees started to turn color on the top.

    026

    And the bush next to it had some berries.  I often wonder what is the name of this evergreen bush.

    093

    Last week Thursday I went to my meeting.  As I came up the street from Journal Square I saw the tree top was under the partial sunlight so golden.  The leaves  look like tamarin leaves.  This kind of trees turn yellow before any other trees and just a big rain their leaves will fall like a yellow rain.

    119

    Saturday I went grocery shopping.  Stopping by the nursery next to the farm market, see all fall colors in pumpkins, mums with various colors such as purple, yellow, white, copper, red, squash with many odd shapes, and hays, and scarecrows.  The one went with me was embarrased that i took pictures of mundane things she asked to sit in the carJ

    120

    130

    142

    After grocery shopping, I took a walk on the street in fron of my house.  On top of an electrical column, a patch of ivy turned bright red as if it was ripened under the sun.  The sun just came out about half an hour I came home, but it was enjoyable to feel the warm and to see the color was ablazed.

    155

    156

    I turned into a gravel road just to visit the bamboo grove.  It was still lush green.

    185

    A leaf prematurely fell.

    187

    Ablazing oak leaves

     

Comments (2)

  • Quá đẹp!

  • “And the bush next to it had some berries. I often wonder what is the name of this evergreen bush…”

    The name of this evergreen bush probably is European Yew or Common Yew (Taxus baccata) which is commonly grown for hedges. Yews, belong to the family of Taxaceae (họ Thông Đỏ), are evergreen conifers (as pines, firs,..). The active ingredient Taxol is actracted from Pacific Yew or Western Yew (Taxus brevifolia). (Taxol, an antineoplastic drug, has shown cytotoxic activity against numerous malignant tumors including: breast cancer, colon cancer, ovarian cancer, …)

    In Vietnam, there are 2 known yews: Taxus chinensis (Pilg) Rehd. – Thông đỏ lá ngắn, Sam hạt đỏ lá ngắn, Hồng đậu sam and Taxus wallichiana Zuce. (T. baccata L. ssp. wallichiana (Zuce) Pilger, T. yunnanensis Cheng el L. K. Fu) – Thông đỏ, Vân nam hồng đậu sam…

    http://viet.gutenberg.free.fr/huediepchi/yhct/yhctHoLatinViet.html#Taxaceae

    “…On top of an electrical column, a patch of ivy turned bright red as if it was ripened under the sun…” is Virginia creeper or five-leaved ivy (Parthenocissus quinquefolia) is a woody vine native to eastern and central North America,.. It belongs to the family of Vitaceae (họ Nho),

    http://viet.gutenberg.free.fr/huediepchi/yhct/yhctHoLatinViet.html#Vitaceae

    In VN, there are 3 known species: Parthenocissus heterophylla (Blume) Merr. (P. landuk (Planch.) Gagnep.) – Trinh đằng khác lá; Parthenocissus pedata Gagnep. – Trinh đằng chân; and Parthenocissus tricuspidata (Sieb. et Zucc.) Planch – Trinh đằng ba mũi, Bà sơn hổ.

    :)

    To know more about your plants and trees, flowers and leaves, birds and bees,.. consider visiting “Bách Thảo Trong Thi Ca” , or better yet, joining “huê diệp chi” ! Post a picture and ask us; we’re the experts!

    ;)

    beautiful pictures, beautiful musics, beuatiful writings!…

    thanks, hdc

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *