September 25, 2005


  • Nha Trang Ngày Về / Nha Trang Returning Day

    I did not stay in Nha Trang long enough to visit all the exotic places that I have heard about.  Nha Trang has been famous being an exotic vacation destination with beautiful white sand beaches.  I first visited Nha Trang years ago.  There are not much memories of Nha Trang in me from the first visit, perhaps because I want to forget lots of things happening then.

     

    I was getting tired of restaurant food after I had been pampered for about two weeks with all the exotic tastes and marvelously designed dishes.  I was craving for fresh fruits.  Renting a bicycle I explored Nha Trang City.  The streets are very clean and broad.  Each bus stop on major streets is a nicely decorated graffiti-free shelter with bus route wall map to accommodate riders who are not accustomed to the city streets.  Although the hot and humid weather was still uncomfortable to me, I was getting used to the traffic in large city such as Ha Noi and Hue, so navigating the streets of Nha Trang no longer invoked my tingling fear and foot ache, on foot or on bike.  I wanted to eat quả na (also called măng cầu) dai, or sweet sop.  Asking directions from local people for the nearest market, I was directed to chợ Đầm (Đầm market), which is the main market of the city and a short distance from my hotel.  Here besides sweet sops, I also bought plenty of longans and rambutans.  On the way back to the hotel I spotted a shop that sold only sweet desserts (chè) because of its very boasting name: Chè Cung Đ́nh or Royal Palace Sweet Pudding Shop.  During this trip in Vietnam, although I have refrained from eating foods that are sold on the streets because of the risk of traveler’s diarrhea, the look of those chè in more than a dozen large pots that were prominently displayed at the shop front was so tempting that I took the risk in enjoying my favorite chè from one of those displayed.  And enjoying, at higher risk, even with the complement coconut milk for the best taste of my favorite.  Wholly delicious.  The taste well matches the boasting Royal Palace.  I was glad I took the risk.

     

    Nha Trang has been in my heart even before my first visit of the city because of the widely popular romantic song Nha Trang Ngày Về written by Phạm Duy.  The night before I left Nha Trang, I took a long walk along Nha Trang downtown beach.  There are numerous gorgeous restaurants along the city’s broad, beautiful boardwalk which is paved with bricks and concrete and almost spotlessly clean. The song was lulling in my head as the memory from my last visit of this city a long time ago was stirring up in my mind.

     

    I then was a school girl who liked to read romance novels and to write short stories.  I befriended a male writer and we became pen pals for a while.  After we met face to face, I was secretly smitten with him (or his words).  Now in reminiscence I did not think that infatuation was love.  But I was sure that it was more than friendship, at least in my heart.  Perhaps I should call it as “It Seems Like Love,” same as the title of a novel I bought recently in Vietnam H́nh Như Là T́nh Yêu written by Hoàng Ngọc Tuấn. During that first trip to Nha Trang, I had a feeling that he was somewhere nearby and that feeling plagued all the three days I was there. I just could not explain why I felt that way.  Much later we met; I found out that he indeed was there at the same time.  That we did not meet in that small location perhaps was meant to be so.  The song popped up in my head many times during that night walk along Nha Trang beach. 

     

    “Nha Trang biển đầy, người yêu không có đây. Tôi như là con ốc, bơ vơ nằm trên cát, chôn sâu vào thân xác lưu đầy.  Dă tràng ơi sao lấp cho vơi sầu nầy…”  Nha Trang is in high tide.  My lover is absent.  I am like a snail, lonely lie on the sand, bury deeply in an exiled shell.  Sand carrying crabs, how can we empty this sadness?

     

    Edit:

     

    Dă tràng (little crabs that make sand into tiny balls) is not ốc mượn hồn (hermit crabs).   

     

     

Comments (28)

  • AW,
    Your Nha Trang trip memoir is excellent.  The fruits you described are also my beloved ones.  Chè Cung Đình sounds greatly tasteful.  Equally exciting is your description of Nha Trang bus stops.  I wish the bus stops in the major cities in the States, the curently sole superpower on Earth, are as good as those in Nha Trang.

    The story of your first visit to Nha Trang provoked the memory of my first trip to the city in the far away past. I then came and left the city on a battle ship.  I had a chance to see Chợ Đầm, one of few multistory markets in VN, and some other tourist spots in the city.  The city was in the war time and not yet devloped for tourism.  I met several live native ladies, one of those well in my memory with lovely, soft voice and long, silky black hair.  Unfortunately, I didn’t meet any Ghost then.  Maybe in my next trip there.

  • After reading this and previous entries about your travels within your home country, I think you ought to write a novel about them and have it published, hehe.

  • Hehe, thanks Wish. :) . I am actually ok now; it was just the morning allergy that usually hits me when the seasons change.

  • Nice entries bout Nha Trang chi. H…. it is mix with ur emotion of love huh….. nhung ma em guess chi H have enough of love right…………..in ur stories.. chi talk bout con oc da trang. co’ ffai no’ ten goi rien la` o’c muon ho`n hay ko?

  • Thank you very much.

  • Nghe noi ve Nha Trang hoai` ma` em chu*a bao gio*` co’ dip ra ddo’…hopefully next time when em visit VN, em will have a chance to visit it :)

  • Great as always.

  • o^ mai gu’t ne’t!!! ca’i lu*ng wish -de.p ba.o!!!

  • i love reading memories

  • aw cant believe u still remember me.. most people would probably think i wuz dead or sumthin lol… yeh ive been busy lately… Nha Trang… i had never been there before… khi xưa gần lắm mà không đến, nay đă xa rồi nhớ lắm thay…

  • er that was bad, two repeated words “lam”… oh well!

  • Nha Trang…que huong cua em do’…co’ cau…”Nha Trang, vung que huong cat trang”, va con gai NT lang da tra(‘ng la’m do’ ehheh….de.p nhat la bien NT va hoan trong

  • Your site always amazes me. I love the way you tell a story in writing. Without meaning to offend, as all writings are different and one of a kind, your work reminds me of the work of Amy Tam, who penned The Joy Luck Club, also a wonderfully written and acted film.

    Thank you for sharing. Are you in The States now and if so, for keeps?

    Love and respect from Decker

  • Chi. H happy monday and my work is under protected… take a look ng` dep.

  • any pictures? you had a pre-xanga even back then. some food are worth the risk – or make sure there’s a bathroom close by.

  • Chi. H em ddang waiting for your new post….. nhanh len em muon doc…….

  • Em cung cho chi post new entry ihihi.. so interesting.

  • Nha Trang is very beautiful indeed, did you make it out to any of the many islands?  AW co’ di ta’m bu`n khong vay?  It’s healing for your skin, that’s what I’ve heard :)

  • Nha Trang is wonderful. It’s awesome that you met your friend there. Ah, I wish I knew the language.

    You are envied!

  • Hihiih, vie^’t ve^` Nha Trang nu+~a ddi chi., em nho+’ tha`nh pho^’ cu?a em wa’, ma(.c du` em chi? mo+’i ddi xa co’ 11 tha’ng tho^i, hihihih…

  • yup, you got it! isn’t

  • HUGS>>>>>>>>> CHI >AW..I gonna MISS you…..

  • great photos, tyty. take good care and have a good week.

    tieu de

  • RYC:  I think you best understood where I was coming from.  If my house had been destroyed by Rita, I had a choice whether to suffer from this event or not.  The more I clung to the idea that my house was permanent, the more I would suffer if it was destroyed.  Thanks for you comment.

  • RYC:  Thanks for stopping by.  What is your name? You are so wise.  I like to know you just a little bit better.   

  • It sounds like a dream… I almost felt like I was there with you.  I know I wish I was! 

  • Mr. T is from Nha Trang… but I don’t know much of Nha Trang… he doesn’t tell me much about his village…. I love this entry….. thanks so much for sharing….

  • Mùa hè 2003 tôi và bạn và hai con đi Nha Trang lên núi để thăm chùa Chàm. Sau đ̣ chúng tôi đi lang thang trên băi biển nh́n người Tay béo mập h́nh như cá voi chết trên cát.
    Nha Trang và Hội An là thành phố đẹp nhất (trừ cá voi tay).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *