August 15, 2008

  • Silk Trees (Mimosa)


    I went to the field for a pre-bid meeting.  I also take half day off.  On the way home I see this silk tree.  This is the first time I see it in the front yard of a house.  Previously I saw them along the railroad tracks.  After the last post about silk trees someone posted a comment that its name is mimosa.  The next day I read the Star Ledger and there was a column about this tree, mimosa.  The article also mentioned of a different kind of mimosa that the leaves fold up when they are touched.  We think, it is basful.   This kind of mimosa is very thorny and covers the ground unlike the silk tree.  I have a few pictures of leaves, flowers and pods.

    021 020 019 018
    017 016 014

Comments (2)

  • What a wonderful thought–a bashful tree!  And beautiful photos, as well.

  • This is very coincidental.  I had pictures last week of this tree.  I was going to post it and ask if anyone knew what kind of tree it was, but I didn’t.  I had never seen one before!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *